Adding segments to a live COA
Posted: 30 September 2008 12:37 AM
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-09-30

Hi,

I have a client that wants to add some segments to the end of their current live COA, they have no spare segments to use. They are running RDBMS : 10.2.0.3.0
Oracle Applications : 11.5.10.2

With following apps GL, PO, AP, FA, AR, CE & I Expenses

Has anyone ever seen or heard of this being done if so can you give me an indication of effort?

Thanks in advance

Richard

Profile
 
Posted: 13 April 2009 03:04 PM   [ # 1 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2009-04-08

No. Adding a new segment is not advisable. Changing your existing flexfield definition once you have used it to acquire data can cause serious inconsistencies with existing data, which could cause data corruption. Oracle Corporation will not support for this extension setup. Please see the Oracle Applications Flexfields Guide, Release 11i (Page 2 - 18, 19).

Thanks,
Augustin Pandian

 Signature 

Thanks & Regards,
Augustin Pandian grin

Profile
 
Posted: 30 April 2009 04:42 AM   [ # 2 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2007-12-09

One option is to create a new chart of accounts, new ledgers based on that and then use consolidation to move the balances/journals from the old to the new ledgers.

 Signature 

blog: davidhaimes.wordpress.com
twitter: twitter.com/dhaimes

Profile
 
Posted: 30 September 2009 09:19 PM   [ # 3 ]
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-09-30

i totally agree with david haimes idea! Nice one…


Regards,
milkydip
accessoires téléphones portables

Profile